FOR THE BETA

A lot of change has happened from my pitch. However, I have learnt to not be afraid of change and that failing early and often can only be for the better. Changing platforms has benefited me and has saved me a lot of time.

As I love to visualise, I have set up reminders through the calendar on my laptop, acting as a schedule so I can be reminded to post more. “The more you engage with or create content on Pinterest, the more likely it is that people will find and follow you.” (Pinterest.com, 2021).

Throughout the next couple weeks, I am going to continue to research and draw conclusions about my epiphany’s. At first, I found my topic of aesthetics to be extremely broad, but I followed advice to break it down. Each epiphany allows me to dive into auto-ethnographic research. Jotting down my emotion has allowed me to realise that the aesthetic I created, has had a positive emotional response, however this will be discussed more in my final report.

I have already learnt so much about aesthetics, and this knowledge can be used in my future career. “Marketing aesthetics offers clear guidelines for harnessing a company’s total aesthetic outputs, its “look and feel,” to provide a vital competitive advantage,”(Schmitt et al, 1997). Especially with the new age of businesses on social media, it guarantees to address to the consumers through a variety of sensory experiences. When I see a beautiful aesthetic on Instagram, through a business page, it automatically wants me to follow and buy their products, resulting in customer satisfaction and loyalty.

References

Schmitt, Bernd, and Alex Simonson. Marketing Aesthetics: The Strategic Management of Brands, Identity, and Image. New York: The Free Press, 1997, accessed 7th October 2021. https://www8.gsb.columbia.edu/researcharchive/articles/337

See your following and followers. 2021, Pinterest Help, accessed 7th October 2021, <https://help.pinterest.com/en/article/following-and-followers#:~:text=The%20more%20you%20engage%20with&gt;.

4 Comments

  1. remypatison says:

    hey, sam!
    Super interesting and easy to read blog! I find that you have done a very good job at linking prior blogs and engaging with past and future concepts and ideas!, I like that have you have justified how you are going to continue to research and draw conclusions about your epiphanies. like you, I can see how the topic of aesthetics can be extremely broad, and I love the idea of how you have linked already so much about aesthetics, and how this knowledge can be used in your future career !!

    I would also like to comment on the creation and inclusion of a calendar I think that’s very cool! and such a basic free tool that is not only effective in providing a structure within a schedule. but also an effective and clear way to communicate to you’re an audience of your future process.

    overall great job and an awesome DA!

    Like

  2. lachlanmaver says:

    Hi Samantha,

    Really great concept! Its great to see how your epiphanies helped you narrow down your DA. I especially was interested in your third epiphany as it is something that will definitely assist you in your future in any career that could utilize aesthetics. Interesting thoughts on the concept of “Marketing Aesthetic” and something that I found myself scratching my head in ways that I had seen similar styles before and started to realize its everywhere! I did a report last year on @zeroco.com.au on Instagram and it was great to see how they had integrated their aesthetic through their brand in products, posts, websites and all forms of visual communication utilizing the same colour schemes and ideas.

    I found this really great article that could help you with that sense regarding how brands can utilize aesthetics in the making component of the brand! Could be good to have a look at and broaden on that epiphany.

    Click to access 25_Olahut_Comiati-UBBCluj%20FFF.pdf

    I can definitely sympathise with changing platforms and realize the difficulty that entails, so well done in having a great project so far!

    Like

  3. merlinparody says:

    Hey Sammie!

    Greta beta presentation, you have conveyed your experiences with your niche clearly and professionally. The development of your DA is great to see, I’m glad the platform change to Pinterest has worked well for you, you can easily curate specific aesthetic boards aligning social channels that target audience specificity and consistency.

    You have engaged in a consistent approach to autoethnography, documentation, and content creation, clearly outlining how you engage in reflexive practices to gain a deeper understanding of your niche and personal experiences.

    Interesting approach to your second epiphany, using reflexivity to uncover the themes, role, and potential of aesthetics. You have used this discovery to your advantage by curating a strict style guide to match your chosen aesthetic which accurately reflects in your online persona in the diva/glamour niche.

    You are building upon academic research helping you to construct a theoretical framework to analyse your data about why aesthetics are useful. I’ve attached an article that might help your research!

    Your updated schedule and reminders are a good way to keep on top of things. Great work I look forward to seeing your final DA

    Like

  4. xxindefit says:

    Hi Sammie!
    I really enjoyed your BETA Pitch, you presentation was very easy to understand and follow. I like how you focused on your own experiences and I find myself relating to a lot of what you say to do with brand sensory experiences. It made me think critically about the brands around us and how we can learn from these examples.
    I found an article on the future of marketing that I believe will be of interest in your future academic research and also personal research in your future career/s.

    The Future Of Marketing Is Multi-Sensory Brand Experiences


    I also loved your scheduling and easy to keep up to date with your DA’s, I cant wait to see what else you will do in your research.

    Like

Leave a Comment