Narrative Interview

In  BCM313, The Future of Work, we were instructed to perform a narrative interview. I decided to interview Georgia Hall, due to our similar and shared curiosities in both studying Communications and Media and both having an interest in Public Relations. Georgia now works as an Influencer Engagement and Marketer, while taking on another role in also being my mentor, inspiration and a dear friend. She inspires me in what I want to do after I graduate, so I couldn’t think of anyone better to interview.

The interview was super informative and I learnt a lot about Georgia’s career journey which she gave excellent advice on. We both felt super comfortable and relaxed, with the conversation flowing freely. I started off the interview making note that her story will be heard and shared by the BCM313 cohort, and Georgia fully agreed to go ahead. As I met Georgia through an old job, it was interesting to find out her career journey experience so far and what it was like before we met. Despite her youth, she has learnt a great deal of knowledge regarding her work.

I was intrigued on how Kate Bowles conducted her narrative interviews and was inspired by the way she would effortlessly allow guests to open-up. She was extremely understanding throughout her interviews and I kept this in mind before I conducted my own, as some topics can be of sensitive matter. This was not therapy, but my questions certainly incited a deeper thought.

I also pulled inspiration from the narrative interviews Kate Bowles showcased, in the BCM313 workshops. This helped me guide Georgia, specifically to talk about her ‘Club of Life’ (Carey, Walther, and Russell, 2009). Georgia spoke on how her parents articulated to always remain in a professional manner. I made sure to ask more questions relating to this, finally determining the huge effect they had on her work ethic and influencing where she is now. I relate to this, as I have leant on my parents for guidance, continuously giving me much needed advice.

Georgia highlighted the features of the ‘Absent But Implicit’ theory (Carey, Walther, and Russell, 2009) when she discussed how she overcame workplace conflicts. She explained how she felt undervalued in her job role supported by evidence in her contract, encouraging her to speak up for herself when something doesn’t feel right, to her boss. Whilst I was listening, I was able to gather information on what she was saying and not saying, furthermore de-constructing our conversation. I was able to pin-point three specific values, influenced by meanings.

My favourite part of the interview was Georgia’s clear awakening of when she knew it was time to move on. Her decision to leave was a great choice. The awareness made it possible for Georgia to recognise openings (Freedman, 2012, p.2). Without this certain experience, she would have never been able to land her dream job now.

The interview was a clear example on why I look up to Georgia as a role model. I learnt that although our lives may be similar, it was essential in enabling me to comprehend the variety of opportunities a communications degree may provide and how distinctively personal every person’s journey is.

I hope one day I can have the same effect on somebody and reciprocate great advice.

References:

Carey, M, Walther, S and  Russell, S 2009, ‘The Absent but Implicit: A Map to Support Therapeutic Enquiry,’ Family process, vol. 48, no. 3, pp. 319–331, viewed 16th October 2022.

Freedman, J 2012, ‘Explorations of the absent but implicit’, International journal of narrative therapy and community work, no. 4, pp. 1–2, viewed 20th October 2022.

Leave a Comment